Favorite Chicken Cordon Bleu

I’m a sucker for a great chicken recipe. This chicken cordon blue one has been in my family for awhile now, and it’s a treat each time it pops up on the menu – it’s my favorite! I haven’t attempted to make it on my own yet, but I teamed up with my mom while I was home over Christmas to see just how she does it, and it was actually fairly fool-proof (minus the the toothpicks; those will get a fool every time)! I can’t wait to try it out in my own kitchen. In the meantime, I’ll share it with you:

Chix CB 1

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 4 slices of deli ham
  • 4 slices of swiss cheese
  • 1 box of Shake ‘n Bake
  • 1 package of dry Italian seasoning
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 small container of sour cream
  • Toothpicks

Directions:

1. Flatten (or butterfly) the chicken breasts and place 1 slice ham and 1 slice swiss cheese in the middle; secure with toothpicks.

Chix CB 3

2. In a bag, mix Shake ‘n Bake &  dry Italian dressing. Coat the chicken with the mix.

Chix CB 4

3. Fry the chicken in a hot & oiled skillet, just to brown both sides.

Chix CB 6

4. Mix the sour cream and cream of chicken soup together. Put chicken in backing dish and cover with the cream mixture.

5. Bake for 35-45 min at 350 degrees. Final product:

Chix CB 8

My mouth is seriously watering at 9:30 in the morning as I write this post. This stuff is so good! I’d love to hear if you try it out!

Leave a Reply

