Reflecting on my 2013 travels, Part 2

2013 brought great travel opportunities my way! I mentioned in my previous post that August was quite a whirlwind for me. I had visited Boston in the 1st part of the month, and toward the end, I took my favorite holiday of the year: a vacation to Cabo San Lucas, Mexico with my family.

Image

Cabo was refreshing, relaxing and rejuvinating all at the same time. I have been to great beaches in the US, but this was my 1st real “tropical” experience… and I fell in love.

Image

Our resort, Cabo Villas, was right on the beach and was the perfect location for our visit. We were close to the marina as well as downtown, and I thought our spot on the beach to be ideal. The resort itself was beautiful. 3 different pools gave everyone at Cabo Villas an opportunity to have the pool experience they wanted. The sprawling balconies from the rooms themselves proved there wasn’t a bad view on the property. The staff was friendly and helpful and our rooms were spotless and gorgeous. I highly recommend staying with Cabo Villas if the opportunity ever presents itself.

Image

Enough about the resort, though; How we spent our time was what really made our trip. While we did spend a fair amount at the swim up bar and lounging in sunning chairs, we also got my mom out on the banana boat, my sister & I tried stand up paddle boarding for the 1st time, we went for a sunset boat cruise on the water and even got to hold a baby lion. The experiences I had in Cabo were unforgettable.

Image

Finally, the food stole me away. I already have a soft spot for Latin food, and Cabo did not disappoint. From chicken mole to lobster tails, every dish I had was yummy though the last bite.

Mexico is full of culture, great food, and the best part: hospitable, friendly people. I can’t wait to go back!

Image

Now, since I am wrapping up my travels in 2013, I feel I need to also include my short trips to Vancouver, Canada and Portland, Oregon as well. Both visits were surprises for me (one for my birthday and one for Christmas) and while both were short, I feel like I packed in some great experiences. In Vancouver, I stayed at the Shangri-la Hotel, and it was one of the most impressive rooms I’ve ever stayed in. Portland brought about my 1st Amtrak ride in 15 years, and made the trip so much fun.

Image

All in all, I have to say 2013 was pretty good to me. I can’t wait to see what travels I get to make in 2014… ! In the meantime, here’s a few more photos from Cabo:

Image

Jordan and I stand-up paddle boarding!

Image

Sisters at the arch.

Image

My best friend in Cabo… Louie!

Leave a Reply

