Slow Cooker Mexi-Chicken Soup

It’s officially soup season! Last night, well…yesterday, I made a really really yummy soup in the crock pot. I used a base recipe from the Six Sisters Blog, but altered it to make it my own. Let’s pause for a second to say that I LOVE my crock-pot. Between my roommate and I, we have 3 of them (all different sizes). My favorite way to make soup is in the crock pot, and I’m definitely hanging on to this recipe. It’s super easy, and it can be changed up for different tastes. Here it is!

Image

Ingredients:

1 lb boneless chicken breast (I like to use the breast tenders)
2 cans cream of chicken soup
2 cups frozen corn
1 can black beans (rinsed)
1 cup salsa
1 1/2 cup water
1 tsp cumin
1 tbsp taco seasoning
1 jalapeno sliced (more if desired)
1 cup Colby jack cheese

Avocado & sour cream to top

Directions:

Spray crock pot with cooking spray.
Put chicken in crock pot.
In a large bowl, mix soup, corn, black beans, salsa, water, jalapeno, cumin & seasoning. Pour mixture over chicken, place lid on top & cook on low for 6 hours.
After 6 hours, shred the chicken breasts, then add cheese. Cover & cook for an additional 20 minutes.

Image

I served mine with sliced avocado & sour cream, but you could get creative with toppings. For those who like cilantro, I would suggest that as well. And maybe even a little more salsa. Image

Good to know: If you remove the seeds while cutting the jalapenos, you lose a lot of the heat. Cooking with jalapenos tends to scare some people, because I know they can be spicy. I will probably put MORE jalapenos in next time because my soup wasn’t spicy at all, but if you’re scared of it getting too hot, take out the seeds!

Image

Leave a Reply

